Outside of the festival, Brisbane Pride hosts regular events including the annual Queen’s Ball Awards (the longest continuously running LGBTIQ+ event in the world), The Queer Formal, The Kal Collins Memorial Fund, and the annual Memorial Garden Ceremony in New Farm Park. For 30 years, Brisbane’s LGBTIQ+ community has come together to celebrate our diversity and BPF’s history runs deep within the hearts and minds of Queenslanders. We were there and fighting when the HIV/AIDS epidemic saw unparalleled homophobia hurled at our community. We were there for the fight for our relationships to be legally recognised as de facto. We were there when homosexuality was finally decriminalised in Queensland. We were there when civil partnerships were introduced and when they were taken away, only to be given back again shortly after. And we were there when we won the fight for marriage equality. BPF is a not for profit, volunteer-based organisation. We rely on the generosity of sponsors, partners and our community to deliver these important cultural and community building events each year. Brisbane Pride Festival is committed to improving the health and wellbeing of all LGBTIQ+ people and communities to live well and free from all forms of discrimination.


The Brisbane Pride Festival Committee is comprised of an entirely volunteer board. Each year committee members are voted in by financial members of the Brisbane Pride Festival at the annual general meeting.

Each position is a two year term with half the positions vacating on alternating years.

Your 2022 Committee are as follows:


Bec Johnson

As well as the President of Brisbane Pride Festival, Rebecca is the co-founder of IndigiLez Women’s Leadership and Support Group, a passionate advocate for improving equality, rights and wellness for LGBTIQ+ communities. She is a proud First Nations and Australian South Sea Islander woman and well established in national and international LGBTIQ+ networks, including participation in the United Nations in Geneva on issues impacting LGBTIQ+ Human Rights. She is a dedicated member of the Queensland Government LGBTI roundtable and committed to building thriving and inclusive communities and improving life outcomes for LGBTIQ+ Queenslanders.

Rebecca has key noted at the LGBTIQ Women’s Health and the World Indigenous Suicide Prevention conferences and was instrumental in the co-design of ‘Uncomfortable Truths’ Domestic and Family violence within the most marginalised communities Indigenous LGBTI Report. She is recognised for her outstanding achievement and service to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander LGBTIQ+ communities of Queensland and is the recipient of the Out for Australia Role Model of the Year Award as well as the Black Pride Award.

More recently she was the Co-Chair of the Queensland Mental Health Consumer Peak. Her leadership spans over 20 years of advocacy and genuine partnerships, she raises the voices and experiences of the communities she volunteers for and with. In her spare time, she can be found exploring the mechanics of guitars and spending time with her mob. As President Rebecca leads the Brisbane Pride Festival Operations and Partnerships.


James McCarthy


Dylan Barrett

Dylan is openly trans masculine and uses he/him/his pronouns.

He is incredibly passionate about LGBTIQ+, Sistergirl & Brotherboy communities, supporting people to find their voice, amplifying the voices of others especially those within the Trans, Gender Diverse, Non-Binary, Sistergirl and Brotherboy communities.

Dylan has been working within the LGBTI, Sistergirl and Brotherboy sector for over 6 years has been involved in community in some form for well over 20 years.

Dylan is a training facilitator, co-ordinator of Many Genders One Voice (a TGDNB social and support group), an advocate/educator and was awarded QLD’s Trans Advocate/Activist of the year in 2018.

Dylan looks forward to being part of the Brisbane Pride Committee and working within LGBTIQ+, Sistergirl and Brotherboy communities.

General Committee member

Naraja Clay

General Committee member

Siyan Baxter

Siyan has been a valued contributor to the LGBTIQA+ community in Tasmania and has recently arrived in QLD to share her energy, enthusiasm, spirit and volunteer hours with Brisbane Pride. She loves helping create amazing events! As a past committee member of TasPride, and Secretary now Life Member of Hobart Out Tennis, Siyan is well known for her welcoming smile and tireless work that combines business acumen with passion and skill.
She has been a driving force for inclusivity and diversity in Sport, facilitating LGBTQIA+ community engagement through tennis and creating a positive sense of community belonging.

Professionally Siyan holds a doctorate in health economics/epidemiology and has followed her interests and passions for health and wellbeing through many avenues and across many countries. She can captivate with stories of her research, or her time as a body piercer in Los Angeles, or her ICU nursing in the Caribbean! She holds umpteen scuba diving certificates and is looking forward to getting back in the warmer water.

Today Siyan is motivated as an academic and clinical facilitator, and in meeting the people that are helping make Queensland great for our community. This is why she is happy to contribute to the amazing work happening through Brisbane Pride and why she can’t wait to be out and proud at Queensland events and meet you all.

General Committee member

Harry Katsanevas

General Committee member

Gabriel Martello

Gabriel has been on the committee since 2018, bringing with him a wealth of experience in corporate governance and compliance. Since then, Gabriel has moved into the project management space, and more recently change management. Gabriel also has a background in customer experience and human-centred design. Gabriel holds a Bachelor of Laws, a Graduate Diploma of Legal Practice and is a certified Change Practitioner. Gabriel is passionate about creating an experience that brings joy to our community, and advocates for this where possible.
General Committee member

Bradley Heilbronn